Surrogate key and strange summary with YTD function.

Today I had a problem with a dimension which displayed the transaction numbers in duplicates were I knew there shouldn´t be any. I realised after some searching that the table which resided from the relational source didn´t only used one key but two primary keys to create a unique row. So I had to set the key column in SSAS to both these (as a surrogate key I guess) in order to get unique rows. I still haven´t looked at the result since there are other problems which are more pressing.

One is the YTD function which I explain here at Stackoverflow:

http://stackoverflow.com/questions/16521754/sum-ytd-calculation-differ-in-ssrs-compared-to-ssms

Another problem I had which resulted in sacrificing some reputation for a bounty is:

http://stackoverflow.com/questions/16412697/extra-empty-lines-when-using-visibility-and-toggle-in-ssrs

This problem maybe isn´t any problem and perhaps it´s just the only way SSRS can show drill down on columns. If I should put it on rows instead I think it would look better but then the report will be to wide. As an example I have followed the book “Delivering Business Intelligence with Microsoft SQL Server 2008” by Brian Larson and there he does somehing similar with the same “empty” space when opening the report. Maybe this has been fixed in later versions?

Tagged with: , , , , , ,
Posted in Report Building, SSAS

Leave a Reply

Archive
Categories

Blogstatistics
  • 3,870 hits
Boyan Penev on Microsoft BI

This is my journey towards greater knowledge with Microsofts Business Intelligence Solutions.

Sherry's BI Corner

All about Microsoft’s BI Platform (SQL Server, Reporting Services, Analysis Services, Integration Services)

Sherry's BI Corner

This is my journey towards greater knowledge with Microsofts Business Intelligence Solutions.

Comments for CALUMO

This is my journey towards greater knowledge with Microsofts Business Intelligence Solutions.

True Tiger Recordings

This is my journey towards greater knowledge with Microsofts Business Intelligence Solutions.

Data Inspirations

This is my journey towards greater knowledge with Microsofts Business Intelligence Solutions.

