So I have started to look at PowerPivot with Microsoft Excel  2010. I guess it´s a light variant of BI-solution with SSAS and SSRS. Maybe I will create a dashboard in PowerPivot also, so that powerusers can have a first view of how the companies KPI´s are doing before going into more detailed investigation. Then the question arrise if the dashboard should contain different drillthrough and filter option, if drillthrough is possible? A big difference I seen so far is the filter option in PowerPivot is very good comparing to SSRS 2008 were you will have to make subreports or drillthrough option with parameters to show detailed data outside of the first viewed dashboard.

Another thought about my project: From the start I was going to create a complete BI-solution with data going through different transformation but now when I have created an overview report in SSRS I am not quite certain. This will in that case affect my mission towards the certificate 70-448 this summer since I won´t learn so much about SSIS that I would have hoped to. To get the knowledge I also need to create some reports and work with them in Report Manager which right now isn´t installed on my machine. Another aproach would be to create this full project during a small window of time, say three weeks and then go back to making the dashboard with the drilldown capabilities.

In latter option I would be going through some thought and insight from Kimball and how to design the dimensions, datawarehouse and so on. I will use this day to think about what to do and make some headlines about it.

Tagged with: , , , ,
Posted in Future thougths, SCRUM

Leave a Reply

Archive
Categories

Blogstatistics
  • 3,870 hits
Boyan Penev on Microsoft BI

This is my journey towards greater knowledge with Microsofts Business Intelligence Solutions.

Sherry's BI Corner

All about Microsoft’s BI Platform (SQL Server, Reporting Services, Analysis Services, Integration Services)

Sherry's BI Corner

This is my journey towards greater knowledge with Microsofts Business Intelligence Solutions.

Comments for CALUMO

This is my journey towards greater knowledge with Microsofts Business Intelligence Solutions.

True Tiger Recordings

This is my journey towards greater knowledge with Microsofts Business Intelligence Solutions.

Data Inspirations

This is my journey towards greater knowledge with Microsofts Business Intelligence Solutions.

