Can´t open report in SSRS

So i had this problem of open a report in SSRS, getting an error message:

[rsInvalidReportDefinition] The report definition is not valid.  Details: The report definition element ‘ConnectionProperties’ is empty at line 8, position 9. It is missing a mandatory child element of type ‘DataProvider’

I read alot of forums but i couldn´t find anywhere exactly why, then i compared another reports xml, ie I right-clicked on report and “showed code”, then i found some rows that didn´t existed in a report that was funtionable.

<ConnectionProperties>
<ConnectString />
<IntegratedSecurity>true</IntegratedSecurity>
</ConnectionProperties>

I deleted those and i could open it again.

Then i thought everything was ok, but when i tried to preview the report i got the same error…

I read here, (Long way down on page): http://social.msdn.microsoft.com/Forums/en-US/sqlreportingservices/thread/ac1e93ee-970b-4969-84cf-79d5a9fa96ea/

I opened the XML like before and changed the “Windows” to “None” as according to the post on the msdn forum. Then i got another error message when previewing:

An unexpected error occurred in Report Processing.
An item with the same key has already been added.

When i looked at the error detail:

[rsDuplicateScopeName] More than one dataset, data region, or grouping in the report has the name ‘TimeTrYear’.  Dataset, data region, and grouping names must be unique within a report.

I have tried to delete item after item in my datasets and in the actual report pane. Nothing changed regarding the problem but when i looked in the XML – view i realised that nothing had disappeared..

Well.. I had made a backup of the report before I started to delete things. I realised after looking after the “TimeTrYear” from error messsage above in XML view that it appeared many times. From the beginning it is a parameter but somehow it now was the name for two datasets??? This didn´t show in SSRS design view so it was real hard to find. I changed thoose names and now I can preview the report like before..

Tagged with: ,
Posted in Report Building

Leave a Reply

Archive
Categories

Blogstatistics
  • 3,777 hits
Boyan Penev on Microsoft BI

This is my journey towards greater knowledge with Microsofts Business Intelligence Solutions.

Sherry's BI Corner

All about Microsoft’s BI Platform (SQL Server, Reporting Services, Analysis Services, Integration Services)

Sherry's BI Corner

This is my journey towards greater knowledge with Microsofts Business Intelligence Solutions.

Comments for CALUMO

This is my journey towards greater knowledge with Microsofts Business Intelligence Solutions.

True Tiger Recordings

This is my journey towards greater knowledge with Microsofts Business Intelligence Solutions.

Data Inspirations

This is my journey towards greater knowledge with Microsofts Business Intelligence Solutions.

