Summary & new shores.

Well, last week i didn´t have time to write a summary so i will write a short one here:

Last week i finished the book “MDX Step-by-Step” by  Bryan.C Smith. Last chapters included some security in forms of different users and showing different things for them. This is maybe something i will use when creating my reports. Also in the last chapter there were a task where i created a simple report.

This week i am continue to investigating my ERP system and  getting to know the cubes a little bit better. I am doing this by thinking about my dashboard and what kind of information a need. Then i query the cubes with SSMS and also creating the data set in BIDS and pulling the data into simple reports. This helps me understand the data and the measures. I also creates some own calculated members since the ones that exists in the cube isn´t enough.

I had some problem with the economic aspect and also when i create the YTD functions. It keeps returning “null” when i try to get the currentmember for the year.

I have also read some articles about creating a dashboard and those gave me alot of input what to think about regarding design and what data that could be important.

Right now i am going over the main dashboard and try to figure out what could be important to put there but i am also thinking about the drilldown capabilities that exists within this dashboard and other that i may create for lower level management.

Tagged with: , ,
Posted in Main, MDX

Leave a Reply

Archive
Categories

Blogstatistics
  • 3,870 hits
Boyan Penev on Microsoft BI

This is my journey towards greater knowledge with Microsofts Business Intelligence Solutions.

Sherry's BI Corner

All about Microsoft’s BI Platform (SQL Server, Reporting Services, Analysis Services, Integration Services)

Sherry's BI Corner

This is my journey towards greater knowledge with Microsofts Business Intelligence Solutions.

Comments for CALUMO

This is my journey towards greater knowledge with Microsofts Business Intelligence Solutions.

True Tiger Recordings

This is my journey towards greater knowledge with Microsofts Business Intelligence Solutions.

Data Inspirations

This is my journey towards greater knowledge with Microsofts Business Intelligence Solutions.

